Car crashes happen in the blink of an eye. One second, you are thinking about an important presentation on your way to work. The next second, it’s shock from being rear ended and spreading pain.
Every collision has the potential to cause serious injuries, which is why New York drivers are required to stay on the scene when an accident causes property damage or injuries. Unfortunately, some drivers flee the scene, which leaves victims without needed aid or contact information for an at-fault driver.
The most important step
New York State law mandates you carry liability of $25,000 (individual)/$50,000 (accident), $10,000 to cover property damage and no-fault coverage of $50,000. But it’s important to purchase as much Supplement Uninsured/Underinsured coverage as possible. In a hit-and-run situation or in a crash where the other driver is underinsured, these policies provide protection.
This leads into the most important thing you need to do after a hit-and-run crash – contact your own insurance company to make a UIM claim. A claim can be filed in several situations that might involve an uninsured or hit-and-run driver:
- Anyone in your vehicle suffers an injury
- You or a family member is injured while riding in an uninsured vehicle or as a pedestrian.
If no insurance coverage is available, as the victim of a hit-and-run driver you may be eligible to receive uninsured motorist protection from the New York state Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corporation. To be eligible you must report the accident to the police within 24 hours. Then you need to submit a Notice of Intention within 90 days.
Speaking with a personal injury attorney is another step in the process to sort out insurance coverage and ensure any settlement offer is fair. Plus, if the fleeing driver can be identified, you might be able to file suit against this negligent individual.